Higher Education Bursaries

Higher Education Bursaries are now available. The Department of Higher Education and Training bursary for students with disabilities. This bursary aims to facilitate the employment of persons with disabilities by empowering them through financial means to academic access.

Higher Education Bursaries Requirements

be a South African citizen with a disability
show the potential to succeed academically

Higher Education Bursaries Conditions

This bursary covers tuition fees, study material and assistive devices, depending on the nature of the disability. Students need to apply annually.Students will not be allowed to change the course for which they have been granted the bursary.
To be awarded, students must meet the requirements of the bursary. A limited amount of funds are made available each year.

How to apply

Applications can be made via one of our regional offices throughout South Africa or through the post, telephonically, personally or by downloading the necessary information from our website.To obtain the application form please click the Bursary Application form . (PDF) http://www.unisa.ac.za/contents/courses/docs/2014%20DHET%20Disability%20Bursary%20Application%20Form.pdf

About Department of Higher Education and Training

About Department of Higher and Training

The Department of Higher Education and Training is one of the departments of the South African government. It oversees universities and other post-secondary education in South Africa. It was created in 2009 after the election of President Jacob Zuma, when the former Department of Education was divided.

The political head of the department is the Minister of Higher Education and Training; as of February 2018 this is Naledi Pandor. The department is headquartered in Pretoria in what used to be known as Sol Plaatje House, named after the author and political activist Sol Plaatje. The name Sol Plaatje House is now used for the new Department of Basic Education building.

The Department issues a journal rank called “List of Approved South African Journals”,[1] used as a criterion for South African scholars and scientists to receive recognition for their academic publishing productivity and for journal editors and publishers to receive monetary compensation from the government.